New Book – The Moment by Claire Dyer (Chapter 1)

18456037

Publishing year: 2013

I have only read a few pages of this new book.

The main character is Fern Cole, who is married to Jack and has two grown-up sons. Fern is in Paddington, and then as she is about to head for her platform, she sees Elliott, a man who she was in love with twenty-five years ago and who we gather let her down. In those minutes she wonders whether to continue or stop and talk to him. It is clear that even though twenty-five years have passed, Fern hasn’t got over him, and there are some unfinished business here. The last sentences I read hinted that she intends to greet and talk to him.

Interesting start. I am curious to know where this will take us, but I have the feeling that it will be a twisted road. I  have just read these few pages, but I can say that I love the writing style. Original and fresh.

Leave a Reply

