The Dead Ground 8 – The End

the-dead-ground-paula-maguire-2-400x400-imady4xjsgpgh7vh

SPOILERS!!!

The end had me on the edge of my seat.

What anguishing end! For a moment, Paula thought she was going to be killed. I knew she wouldn’t die because there is another two books in the Paula Maguire series. 😉 What I feared was for the baby. I thought that the author would opt for the easy ending and get Paula to have a miscarriage. Thankfully, it wasn’t that way, which I’m glad about.

Both sisters were deranged. I can understand that Bridget was crazy after what she went with her own grandfather, and then losing her husband and baby. But although Magdalene claimed to have these visions, she didn’t seem mad, rather a bit eccentric and sly. However, both of them thought they were doing right. And Magdalene was even more cruel, telling Paula that her mother was alive and with a new family. Is that true? Is Margaret Maguire happy somewhere else? If that were true, I fear Paula would be devastated and very hurt. I don’t know what to think. Sometimes I have the hunch that Margaret Maguire is alive, but then how could she leave her daughter? Did she leave because she had put her family in danger, so leaving was the only way to keep them safe? But then after the troubles came to an end, why didn’t she contact them?

The novel ends with Paula and her baby safe, and Paula wanting to keep her baby girl. What we don’t know is if the baby is Guy’s or Aidan’s. I root for Aidan. Despite his rough ways and anger, I like him better than Guy, and Guy is married!!! Now in the next novel, Paula will still have to find out who fathered her baby, but at least, she’s come to terms with the idea that she’s going to be a mother, and her father and with all certainty Pat will be there for her. It’ll be interesting to see how the two likely fathers are going to react and act during her pregnancy. If the baby is Guy’s and she ends up with him, well, he’s not my first option, but I’ll have to be okay with it. 🙂 I can’t wait to read the next instalment.

Leave a Reply

